The Importance of Choosing a Professional Translator

If you’re looking for a professional translator to translate or correct your documents, you already understand, in some respects, the importance of a good translation. You know that having your translation done by a real professional—a qualified and experienced specialist with a degree in translation—is a crucial decision.

The widespread (and erroneous) conception that translation is just “putting words from one language into another” makes it harder for those outside of the business to see the reality of the situation. Translation is extremely challenging. It takes many years of study and a very specific skill-set to become a qualified translator. Translating is also a complex and time-consuming process that requires long hours of painstaking work. Lower-cost translation services will not cost less in the long term: poor-quality translations can do harm to your company’s image or reputation.

You shouldn’t be satisfied with a translation that’s just “good enough”. Reap the benefits of our experience and choose only the highest quality translations for your documents. Have a look at our page on Translation to learn all about the translation services we offer.

Translation is a cost that should be systematically taken into account. C. Eddy Traductions charges prices that correspond to industry standards for translations performed by a specialized translator with a graduate degree in translation. In French, the English loan word “cheap” carries the connotation of “inexpensive and of poor quality”, and there is a reason that this word association exists. In translation, getting a lower price tag often means hiring unqualified, inadequately trained, or non-native translators—or well-meaning professionals who are forced to rush because they need to ensure high volumes to make up for low wages—which inevitably leads to lower quality, in spite of our best intentions.

For financial reasons, it can be tempting to have your documents translated by a coworker or student with some foreign language knowledge, but only a certified professional can ensure that the final result will have the style and tone required for the English-speaking world. Being able to speak two languages—even if a person considers himself or herself to be a fluent or bilingual speaker—doesn’t make someone a translator!

Placing your trust in us for your French-English translations is an important decision, and we hope you will make the right choice. Ask for a quote today!

L'importance du choix d'un traducteur professionnel

Si vous cherchez un traducteur professionnel pour traduire ou relire votre document, c'est que vous saisissez d'ores et déjà l'ampleur des enjeux que représente une bonne traduction. Vous savez que confier votre traduction à un vrai professionnel — un spécialiste diplômé et expérimenté — est une décision qui n'a pas de prix.

L’idée reçue qui voudrait que la traduction n'est que l'acte, sans la moindre difficulté, de « réécrire des mots d'une Langue A dans une Langue B » voile la réalité des choses pour ceux qui ne connaissent pas le métier de traducteur. En vérité, la traduction est une profession très difficile. Elle nécessite de longues études et des compétences précises. C'est aussi une activité complexe et chronophage qui oblige à de longues heures de travail ardu. Un service moins cher ne vous reviendra pas moins cher au long terme. Une traduction de piètre qualité peut nuire à votre réputation ou à votre image de marque.

Ne vous contentez pas d'un « à peu près » ou d'un « assez bien ». Laissez-vous convaincre par notre expertise et optez pour une traduction de qualité. Faites un tour sur notre page sur la Traduction pour avoir des informations sur les services de traduction que nous proposons.

La traduction est un coût qu'il faut systématiquement prévoir pour tous vos documents ; nous pratiquons des tarifs correspondants à un service de traduction effectué par un professionnel diplômé et spécialisé. En anglais, « bon marché » se dit « cheap », mais nous savons tous que « cheap », qui fait maintenant partie du vocabulaire de la langue de Molière, signifie en français « peu cher et de mauvaise facture », et il y a une raison que cette double signification existe ! En effet, lésiner sur le prix de la traduction, c'est lésiner sur sa qualité. Et en traduction, payer moins cher signifie souvent faire appel à des traducteurs sans diplôme, inexpérimentés ou dont la langue natale n'est pas l'anglais – ou bien à des traducteurs obligés à faire un travail en toute rapidité pour être rentable face à des tarifs inférieurs à leurs besoins – ce qui a pour résultat une baisse de qualité, malgré nos meilleures intentions.

Pour des raisons financières, il peut être tentant de confier votre traduction à un collègue anglophone ou à un étudiant, mais seul un professionnel assurera que le résultat final aura le style et ton pratiqués dans le monde anglophone. Parler deux langues, même si l'on se juge bilingue, ne fait pas un traducteur !

Nous confier votre traduction français-anglais est donc une décision importante, et nous vous en remercions. Demandez un devis dès aujourd'hui !